ARE YOU LISTENING?…(CHAPTER VIII)


JUST AS KARIMBE ENDED HIS SPEECH, TEFNUT WAS CALLING THE HOME OF HATHOR.

IT WASN’T UNTIL THE SIXTH RING THAT HATHOR ANSWERED THE PHONE.

JAMBO, HATHOR SPEAKING.

JAMBO, HATHOR. THIS IS TEFNUT.

OH…I WAS BEGINNING TO WONDER WHEN YOU WERE  GOING TO BUZZ ME.

HAVE YOU SPOKEN WITH KARIMBE?

NDIYO.  HE WISHED FOR US TO GATHER THE TROOPS.

I BELIEVE THERE’S GOING TO BE SOME SORT OF ACTION IN THE NEAR FUTURE.  AND OUR ASSISTANCE WILL BE GREATLY NEEDED.

YEAH…I HAD ANTICIPATED THAT MUCH.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

I THINK IT’S GONNA BE A REPRIEVE OF THE LAST DEMONSTRATION.  I WILL BE GOING TO VISIT HIM THIS WEEKEND.  ARE YOU RIDING?  I’M SURE UMOJA WOULD BE HAPPY TO SEE YOU.

I BET HE WOULD.  HE HAS WRITTEN A POEM TO ME THE OTHER DAY.  WOULD YOU LIKE TO HEAR IT?

OF COURSE.  THE NDUGU CAN WRITE.  HE REALLY KNOWS HOW TO EXPRESS HIMSELF.

OKAY…HOLD ON A MINUTE.

THERE WAS SILENCE FOR A BRIEF MOMENT.  HOWEVER, TEFNUT WONDERED IF HATHOR WAS STILL PURSUING HER FANTASIES, WHICH WERE THEIR DEEP SECRET.

I’M BACK.  ARE YOU READY?

C’MON GIRL…READ THE POEM.

ALL RIGHT…ALL RIGHT…TAKE IT EASY. THE TITLE IS—“ARE YOU LISTENING?”

WITHIN THE CONFINES OF MY HEART…A VOICE IS SILENTLY REVERBERATING AND EXPANDING THE WALLS TO THEIR APOGEE…IT IS A PLACE THAT HAS, FOR SOMETIME, BEEN NEGLECTED, BRUSHED-OFF AND ABUSED…IT IS A CRY TO BE FREE…ARE YOU LISTENING? THE WORDS RUSHED FORTH LIKE A RIVER’S FLOW…EBBING AND AUGMENTING IN RESPONSE TO THE ATTENTION GIVEN…REQUESTING YOUR LOVE AS ITS SOURCE TO GROW…. ARE YOU LISTENING? THEY ARE WORDS OF PROMISE, VULNERABILITY, AND COMMITMENT.  THE PROMISE TO RESPECT YOUR WISHED…THE PROMISE TO REMAIN VULNERABLE TO YOUR DESIRES, AND THE PROMISE OF BEING COMMITTED TO YOUR EXPECTATIONS…ARE YOU LISTENING? LISTENING IS THE KEY TO EMANCIPATING THE FETTERED VOICE WITHIN MY HEART.  HOWEVER, PARTICIPATION IS MOST DIFFICULT TO THE POINT OF INFIDELITY,WHEREBY, LIKE THE GENII OF ANTIQUITY, THIS VOICE IS UNABLE TO PART, REMAINING IMPRISONED IN THE DEPTHS OF MY HEART PERPETUALLY…ARE YOU LISTENING?

Tefnut and Hathor were quiet for what seemed an eternity, WHEN TEFNUT SAID…CHILD, YOU BETTER SNATCH THAT MAN.  AND FAST.

YOU KNOW, I’M HONESTLY CONSIDERING IT BUT I’M SCARED OF BEING HURT AGAIN.

I UNDERSTAND FULLY WHAT YOU’RE SAYING, HOWEVER NO ONE IS FAIL-

SAFE.  WE JUST GO THROUGH LIFE HOPING THE ONE WE CHOOSE IS ABLE TO GROW OLD WITH US.  IT’S A PROCESS OF LIFE WE CANNOT ESCAPE.

YEAH…I SUPPOSE YOU’RE RIGHT.  I THINK I WILL GO WITH YOU.  WHAT TIME ARE WE LEAVING?

I WILL PICK YOU UP AT 7:00 AM SHARP.  BE READY.  I WANT TO GET THERE BY 9:00 O’CLOCK.

ALL RIGHT.  LALA SALAMA (GOOD NIGHT), TEFNUT.

LALA SALAMA, HATHOR.

